Commission for Women and Girls

The Solano Commission for Women and Girls (SCWG, which was established on April 24th, 2018, by the Solano County Board of Supervisors, held its inaugural meeting on October 17, 2018. To date the Commission has had three general meetings, and formed four committees (Executive Committee, Membership Committee, Communications Committee, and the Status Report Committee), all of which have begun meeting and executing the work of the commission. The Commission’s first set of tasks was to establish a basic structure, fill membership, approve bylaws, and begin forming as a group.

The SCWG has been charged by the Board of Supervisors to develop a “report card” on the status of women and girls in Solano County. To that end, a committee has begun the planning process. Moreover, a planning session is scheduled for Friday, February 1st, from 1:00 to 5:00 p.m. at the County Administrative Center, 675 Texas Street in the multipurpose room. All are welcome to attend. In addition to the status report, the Commission expects to identify other activities that will form their workplan for 2019 and into 2020. The Communications Committee is developing marketing and communication strategies, social media policies, a calendar of events, and is working with other Commissioners to develop contact lists of interested stakeholders.

The Commission is diverse and has a full membership body with representatives from each County Supervisor, the seven cities, the Solano County Office of Education, as well as, four at large members (2 adult and 2 youth members).

District 1 Representative, Olivia ARuiz
District 2 Representative, Ana Petero
District 3 Representative, Stephanie Beardsley
District 4 Representative, Jennifer Hamilton
District 5 Representative, Laura Petty

City of Benicia Representative, Gayle Vaughan
City of Dixon Representative, Mary Lou Batchelor
City of Fairfield Representative, Cornelia Gibson
City of Rio Vista Representative, Kay Kelley
City of Suisun Representative, Tiffani Thomas
City of Vacaville Representative, Judi Ruggiero-Ferrara
City of Vallejo Representative, Elease Cheek

Solano County Office of Education Representative, Rochelle Sherlock

Member at Large - Adult, Akon Walker
Member at Large - Adult, Doriss Panduro
Member at Large - Youth, Sakina Ali
Member at Large - Youth, Kaitlyn Dutton

Rochelle Sherlock, Chair - and (707) 718-5637
Laura Petty, Vice-Chair - and (707) 759-2588
Ana Petero, Secretary - and (707) 631-0898

SCWG anticipates electing a treasurer at its upcoming meeting

SCWG general membership meetings are held on the third Thursday of the month from 6 - 8 p.m., located at 675 Texas Street, Fairfield in the multipurpose room.  All are welcome to attend.

Email the commission at
Find us on Facebook by clicking here