# HISTORY OF SOLANO COMMISSION FOR WOMEN AND GIRLS

## FORMATION OF THE SOLANO COMMISSION FOR WOMEN AND GIRLS

# October 2017

In October of 2017, Dr. Frances McCullough, Jennifer Barton, and Erica Rodriguez-Langley began to have conversations with Phyllis Gordon, a member of the Contra Costa County Women's Commission, about forming a commission for women and girls in Solano County. Mrs. Gordan, who has long been active in women's commissions, and was the Northern California Representative of the Association of California Commissions for Women (ACCW)) and a member of the Board of Directors for the NACW (National Association of Commissions for Women (NACW), was encouraging community leaders in Solano County to establish a commission.

Together Dr. McCullough and Ms. Barton began to reach out to other community leaders, beginning with County Supervisor Erin Hannigan, to form a planning committee.

#### January 7, 2018

The Formation Committee, consisting of 14 women - representing various backgrounds, groups, and parts of the County - met on January 7<sup>th</sup>, 2018.

The committee met regularly thereafter to establish the purpose, mission, goals, activities, develop an enabling mandate, and create draft bylaws. The committee obtained letters of support and began to solicit donations to support the Solano Commission for Women and Girls (SCWG) in getting started.

#### **Planning Committee Members**

Jennifer Barton, Committee Chair	Elease Cheek
<i>Fairfield</i>	<i>Vallejo</i>
Dana Dean	Anna Eaton
Benicia	<i>Vacaville</i>
Bobbi Enderlin	Sabine Goerke-Shrode
<i>Benicia</i>	<i>Fairfield</i>
Liliana Gonzalez	Erin Hannigan
<i>Vallejo</i>	<i>Vallejo</i>
Dr. Frances McCullough	Erica Rodriguez-Langley
Fairfield	Contra Costa County
Rochelle Sherlock	Cierra Padilla
Fairfield/Cordelia	Rio Vista
Margi Stern, Vacaville	Lori Wilson
<i>Vacaville</i>	<i>Suisun</i>
Phyllis Gordan, Advisor Contra Costa County	

# April 24, 2018

On April 24<sup>th</sup>, 2018, the Solano County Board of Supervisors voted to establish the Solano Commission for Women and Girls as an official advisory body to the Board of Supervisors.

#### May – August 2018

The Formation Committee developed an application for membership, a recruitment letter, and established an initial meeting schedule for the SCWG. Committee members sought and secured generous donations from Soroptimist Central Solano, Soroptimist Vallejo, and Soroptimist Rio Vista. The donations were to pay for a consultant to work with the SCWG to develop ma Status Report for Women and Girls.

Formation Committee on April 24<sup>th</sup>, 2018 – After the Solano County Board of Supervisors established the Solano Commission for Women and Girls.



# SOLANO COMMISSION FOR WOMEN AND GIRLS

# October 17, 2018 – Inaugural Meeting

The newly formed SCWG held its inaugural meeting and elected its first officers for Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary.

- Rochelle Sherlock, Chair
- Laura Petty, Vice-Chair
- Ana Petero, Secretary
- Olivia Ruiz, Treasurer (elected on January 17, 2019)

#### INITIAL SOLANO COMMISSION FOR WOMEN AND GIRLS MEMBERSHIP

Olivia Ruiz, Solano County, District 1AStephanie Beardsley, Solano County, District 3JeLaura Petty, Solano County, District 5GMary Lou Batchelor, City of DixonKaElease Cheek, City of VallejoCoTiffani Thomas, City of SuisunJuRochelle Sherlock, Solano County Office of EducationSakina Ali, SCWG AppointmentADoriss Panduro, SCWG AppointmentKa

Ana Petero, Solano County, District 2 Jennifer Hamilton, Solano County, District 4 Gayle Vaughan, City of Benicia Kay Kelley, City of Rio Vista Cornelia Gibson, City of Fairfield Judi Ruggiero-Ferrara, City of Vacaville

Akon Walker, SCWG Appointment Kaitlyn Dutton, SCWG Appointment

Initial Members of the Solano Commission for Women and Girls

