| || |
|Recording Official Documents|
|Recording Official Documents and Requesting Copies of Official Documents
Due to Covid-19 the Assessor/Recorder has enacted the following alternate schedule and operations.
Our lobby is open Monday thru Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (excluding holidays)
- Face coverings are required
- 6 ft. physical distancing is required
- Lobby maximum capacity is 20 people
- No more than 2 persons per window transaction
- Please complete Birth, Death or Marriage applications before entering the Assessor/Recorder Lobby
- Assessor Transactions may require an appointment be scheduled for later time and date depending on the complexity of the issue and availability of Appraisal staff.
675 Texas Street Suite 2700
Fairfield, California 94533-6338
Open to the Public: 9:00a.m. - 4:00p.m. Monday thru Friday
Phone Hours: 9:00am - 4:00pm, Monday thru Friday
Recording Hours: 9:00a.m. - 4:00p.m.
Same Day Recording: 9:00a.m. - 3:30p.m.
Map to 675 Texas Street
The Assessor/Recorder Department is prohibited from giving legal advice; nor can staff assist the public in the preparation of legal documents. If you have questions concerning which document form is appropriate for your transaction, or if you are in need of assistance in the preparation of that document, you should consult an attorney or obtain other professional advice.
The Recorder Division records only those documents permitted by state law. Recording priority is given first to documents received over the counter, secondly to express and overnight mail, and thirdly to documents sent USPS. A document deposited with the Recorder must meet recording requirements and the proper fees must be included to ensure recordation. All applicable fees must be paid at time of recording. To accommodate all customers, documents recorded in the office during same day recording hours of 9:00am - 3:30pm, must be submitted in groups of 5 documents or less at a time, with a separate payment (check, cash, debit or credit card) for each set.
Recording Fees (Govt Code 27360 et seq)
See Fee Schedule for the list of recording fees. Recording fees are established by state law and county ordinance; and are due at time of recording. Make check payable to Solano County Recorder. If you are uncertain of the exact fee amount you may leave the amount blank and state below the amount line, "check not to exceed $xx dollars". Your check will be completed for the exact amount of the fees due.
The recording fee for a standard 8 1/2 x 11 inch document for the following titles will be $13.00 + $10.00 DA Fraud fee for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page.
Pursuant to California State Senate Bill 2 and in accordance with the legislative addition of Government Code section 27388.1, documents accepted for recording at the Solano County Recorder’s Office may be charged an additional $75 as follows:
A fee of seventy-five dollars ($75) shall be paid at the time of recording of every real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded, except those expressly exempted from payment of recording fees, per each single transaction per parcel of real property. The fee imposed by this section shall not exceed two hundred twenty-five dollars ($225).
- This fee will be calculated per document, with a maximum of $225 based on the number of documents and titles.
The fee shall not be imposed on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer subject to the imposition of a documentary transfer tax as defined in Section 11911 of the Revenue and Taxation Code or on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer of real property that is a residential dwelling to an owner-occupier.
When an exemption is applicable, a valid declaration of exemption must be placed on the face of each document prior to depositing with the Recorder, otherwise the fee will be assessed.
For more information, please read the following information sheet: SB2 Information Sheet
Pursuant to California State Senate Bill 1342 and per Solano County Board Resolution 2013-233, the $10.00 DA Fraud Fee will apply to the following titles. Government Code 27388 has been amended to exempt the Fraud fee on documents recorded concurrently or in the same business day as a transfer subject to the imposition of documentary transfer tax. This fee will be collected at the time of recording.
|Deed of Trust
||Assignment of Deed of Trust
|Amendment of Deed of Trust
||Abstract of Judgment
||Assignment of Rents
|Assignment of a Lease
||Construction Trust Deed
|Covenants, Conditions and Restrictions (CC&Rs)
||Declaration of Homestead
||Lot Line Adjustment
||Modification for Deed of Trust
|Notice of Completion
||Request for Notice
|Notice of Default
||Substitution of Trustee
|Notice of Trustee Sale
||Trustee's Deed Upon Sale
|Notice of Rescission of Declaration of Default
|Any Uniform Commercial Code amendment assignment
|continuation statement or termination
Basic Recording Requirements
The standard page size of a document is 8 ½" x 11". A $3.00 fee is charged on all documents other than standard size of 8 ½" x 11" to each page of entire document.
Each document submitted for recordation shall have at least a ½" margin on each vertical side. The top 2.5" of the first page (right side) is reserved for the Recorder?s recording label and the left side is used to show the requestor's name and the name and address to which the document is to be returned following recording.
Requesting Copies of Official Documents
Official record copies may be obtained in person or by a written mail request. We do not email documents. Grantor/Grantee information can be researched on our website under "View Online Official Records Index". The website provides the document number, date of recording, number of pages, document description (title) and grantor/grantee names. You are not able to view documents online. To view a document you must come into our office.
In Person - Our Self-Serve Public Research Area is open to the public from 8:00a.m. to 4:00p.m. Monday - Friday (excluding holidays). You are able to view documents back to 1955 on a computer as you research. You may also view microfilm back to 1848.
By Mail - Send a written request to the address below. Please include the copy fee and a contact phone number. The following information is helpful as a cross reference to locate your document. Please include this information in your copy request:
- Title of the Document
- Names of the parties on the document
- Document Number and/or Book and Page
- Recording Date
Mail Copy Request To: Solano County Assessor/Recorder
675 Texas Street, Ste. 2700
Fairfield CA 94533
On bottom left-hand corner of envelope, please note: "Recorder Copy Request".
Copy Fees are $7.00 for the first page, $1.00 for each additional page and $5.00 for certification of a document. We accept cash, preprinted checks and money orders payable to Solano County Recorder.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our office at (707) 784-6290.