News Details

Older adults to be honored for their living legacies

May 9, 2013

Twenty-one  older adults from across Solano County will be recognized Wednesday, May 15, for their legacies and outstanding contributions at the fourth annual Living Legacy Awards ceremony.

The Senior Coalition of Solano County, in partnership with various senior-focused groups, established the Living Legacy Awards program in 2010 to honor older adults who are making significant contributions to their communities. The event is being held in May to commemorate Older Americans Month. Older adults from all seven cities will be recognized.

The recipients will be honored at a ceremony on Wednesday, May 15 from 2 to 5 p.m. in the Willow Room of the Fairfield Community Center, 1000 Kentucky St. in Fairfield.

The 2013 Living Legacy Award recipients are:

-- Houston Robertson, Community Spirit

-- Ethel Calvello, Cultural and Community Contributions
-- Joan Axelson, Community Spirit
-- John Wiswell, Community Spirit

-- Gloria Nemson, Community Spirit
-- Jay Huyssoon, Inspired Leadership
-- Michael Nail, Community Spirit and Leadership
-- Lillie Taylor, Generative Age
-- Patti Huyssoon, Community Spirit

Rio Vista
-- Barbara Rodriguez, Community Spirit
-- John (Jack) Krebs, Community Champion

Suisun City
-- Agnes Kulhanek, Community Spirit
-- Daisy Washington, Generative Age
-- Charles Bond, Generative Age
-- Lauren Rolfe, Social Innovation

-- Jeannette O'Halloran, Building Bridges
-- Margi Stern, Community Spirit
-- Carolyn Dillard, Social Innovation
-- Phyllis Seminoff  , Community Spirit

-- Joyce Scharf, Cultural and Community Contributions
-- Dr. Elaine Norinsky, Social Innovation

If you would like to attend the event, please contact Rochelle Sherlock, coordinator for the Senior Coalition, at 864-3984 or [email protected].