## **BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**

ERIN HANNIGAN
District 1, (707) 553-5363
MONICA BROWN
District 2, Vice-Chair (707) 784-3031
JAMES P. SPERING
District 3, (707) 784-6136
JOHN M. VASQUEZ
District 4, Chair, (707) 784-6129
MITCH MASHBURN



BIRGITTA E. CORSELLO County Administrator (707) 784-6100

675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533-6342 Fax (707) 784-6665

www.solanocounty.com

March 14, 2022

District 5, (707) 784-6030

The Honorable Robert Rivas Chair, Assembly Agriculture Committee 1020 N St. Room 362 Sacramento, CA 95814

## RE: - SUPPORT, AB 1620 (Aguiar-Curry) Broomrape Control Program

Dear Chair Rivas,

On behalf of the Solano County Board of Supervisors, I write in support of AB 1620 (Aguiar-Curry), which will establish a Broomrape control board to provide recommendations and guidance to mitigate the weed.

Broomrape is a noxious weed that has recently been found in the tomato fields of Yolo county but has been known to infest a wide range of other crops. This weed can parasitize and cause significant crop yield losses and is currently causing lower tomato yields. It can also discolor a variety of other crops and infest other weeds even if no crop is present. Broomrape can have a significant effect on crop yields and diminish their value on local and overseas markets.

AB 1620 will establish the Broomrape Control Board under the California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA). The board will consist of 12 members with at least three members from 4 districts with each district representing multiple counties. This bill will also require the board to make guidance and recommendations on control methods for this noxious weed.

For these reasons, Solano County is pleased to support AB 1620 (Aguiar-Curry) and ask that you vote aye when this bill is heard before your committee.

Sincerely,

John M. Vasquez, District 4 Supervisor and Chair Solano County Board of Supervisors

CC:

Honorable Bill Dodd, Member, California State Senate Honorable Tim Grayson, Member, California State Assembly Solano County Board of Supervisors Karen Lange, Legislative Advocate Nicole Vazquez, Assembly Budget Committee Eric Dietz, Assembly Republican Fiscal