ERIN HANNIGAN District 1, (707) 553-5363 MONICA BROWN District 2, Vice-Chair (707) 784-3031 JAMES P. SPERING District 3, (707) 784-6136 JOHN M. VASQUEZ District 4, Chair, (707) 784-6129 MITCH MASHBURN District 5, (707) 784-6030

## **BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**



675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533-6342 Fax (707) 784-6665

www.solanocounty.com

March 28, 2022

Honorable Bill Dodd, Senator 1021 O Street, Suite 6620 Sacramento, CA 95814 Honorable Tim Grayson, Assemblymember State Capitol, P.O. Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249-0014

Dear Senator Dodd and Assemblymember Grayson,

On behalf of the Solano County Board of Supervisors, I am writing to provide our support for:

- (1) A proposed Senate Concurrent Resolution (SCR) to designate the Interstate-780 and Interstate-80 highway interchange as "Congressional Gold Medal Memorial Interchange." This will honor all the CGM recipients from General George Washington to the African-American "Hidden Figures" NASA Mathematicians, and various Warriors including the Native American Code Talkers, Tuskegee Airmen, Women Airforce Service Pilots of WWII, Japanese American 442nd Regimental Combat Team, Montford Point Marines, Hispanic 65th Infantry Regiment, Filipino Veterans of World War II, and the Chinese American Veterans of World War II.
- (2) A proposed Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) to rename the Interstate 80 Hunter Hill Rest Area to the "Medal of Honor Safety Roadside Rest Area." The Medal of Honor is our Nation's highest personal military award and the rest area will honor: James Cooney, William Halford, Alexander Parker, Richard D. Dunphy, William S. Bond, Patrick J. Burke, George Carter, Anund C. Roark, Robert H. Young, John O. Dahlgren, Frank A. Young, Johan Johansson, Richard Willis, Henry Thompson, Reinhardt J. Keppler, William Johnson, and Thomas Lakin (currently 17 total) who were born, entered service, last home of record, settled, died, and/or buried in Vallejo.

We are proud to support the proposed SCR and ACR to ultimately respect and memorialize those who served with honor, dedication, and distinction for the United States of America, and we hope that you will wholeheartedly support this noble effort.

Sincerely,

John M. Vasquez, District 4 Supervisor and Chair Solano County Board of Supervisors

CC:

Solano County Board of Supervisors Nestor Aliga, Veteran, and Solano County Resident Karen Lange, Legislative Advocate

