BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

ERIN HANNIGAN
District 1, (707) 553-5363
MONICA BROWN
District 2, Vice-Chair (707) 784-3031
JAMES P. SPERING
District 3, (707) 784-6136
JOHN M. VASQUEZ
District 4, Chair, (707) 784-6129
MITCH MASHBURN



BILL EMLEN County Administrator (707) 784-6100

675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533-6342 Fax (707) 784-6665

www.solanocounty.com

April 18, 2022

District 5, (707) 784-6030

The Honorable Dave Cortese California State Senate 1021 O St., Ste. 6640 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: - OPPOSE, SB 1100, Open Meetings, Orderly Conduct

Dear Senator Cortese,

On behalf of the Solano County Board of Supervisors, I write to express our opposition to SB 1100, which seeks to amend the Ralph M. Brown Act (Brown Act), impacting meeting procedure.

While we recognize the intent of the bill, we hold that introducing additional procedures for legislative bodies to follow under the Brown Act would not contribute to a legislative body's capacity to operate a safe and productive meeting. Maintaining a safe environment fosters productivity within meetings, introducing extra procedures for a legislative body to follow prior to removing a disruptive individual simply weakens a legislative body's ability to carry out business.

The safety of the public officials and public in attendance at meetings is of utmost importance, thus we must not hinder their ability to control a meeting with added procedural burdens. We hold that SB 1100 is unnecessary and would be burdensome to legislative bodies across the state. The Brown Act prioritizes safety and the proposed amendments hinder public officials' ability to contain a disruptive meeting.

For the reasons outlined above, Solano County must respectfully oppose SB 1100 to ensure that our county's meetings remain safe and productive.

Sincerely,

John M. Vasquez, District 4 Supervisor and Chair

Solano County Board of Supervisors

CC:

Honorable Bill Dodd, Member, California State Senate Honorable Tim Grayson, Member, California State Assembly Honorable Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Member, California State Assembly Honorable Lori Wilson, Member, California State Assembly Solano County Board of Supervisors Karen Lange, Legislative Advocate