BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

ERIN HANNIGAN
District 1, (707) 553-5363
MONICA BROWN
District 2, Vice-Chair (707) 784-3031
JAMES P. SPERING
District 3, (707) 784-6136
JOHN M. VASQUEZ
District 4, Chair, (707) 784-6129
MITCH MASHBURN
District 5, (707) 784-6030



BILL EMLEN County Administrator (707) 784-6100

675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533-6342 Fax (707) 784-6665

www.solanocounty.com

August 17, 2022

Honorable Laura Friedman, Chair Assembly Transportation Committee Legislative Office Building 1020 N Street, Room 112 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: SUPPORT - SCR 111, CONGRESSIONAL GOLD MEDAL MEMORIAL INTERCHANGE

Dear Assemblymember Friedman,

On behalf of the Solano County Board of Supervisors, I am writing to provide our support for Senate Concurrent Resolution (SCR) 111 (Dodd) to designate the Interstate-780 and Interstate-80 highway interchange as "Congressional Gold Medal Memorial Interchange." This will honor all the CGM recipients from General George Washington to the African-American "Hidden Figures" NASA Mathematicians, and various Warriors including the Native American Code Talkers, Tuskegee Airmen, Women Airforce Service Pilots of WWII, Japanese American 442nd Regimental Combat Team, Montford Point Marines, Hispanic 65th Infantry Regiment, Filipino Veterans of World War II, and the Chinese American Veterans of World War II.

We are proud to support SCR 111 to ultimately respect and memorialize those who served with honor, dedication, and distinction for the United States of America, and we hope that you will wholeheartedly support this noble effort.

Sincerely,

John M. Vasquez,
District 4 Supervisor and Chair
Solano County Board of Supervisors

CC:

Solano County Board of Supervisors Karen Lange, Legislative Advocate