

Office of the Secretary Washington, DC 20250

November 4, 2022

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor State of California State Capitol Suite 1173 Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Governor Newsom:

On May 26 through July 12, 2022, the California Governor's Office of Emergency Services and the County of Yolo, requested a primary county disaster designation for eight counties in California, due to damage and losses caused by freeze that occurred from April 11 through April 12, 2022. At that time, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) was unable to make a complete and accurate determination of production losses for the current crop year. On October 27, 2022, the California State Office notified the National Office that all loss assessment reports were completed.

USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Report and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation. Therefore, I am designating eight counties in California, as primary natural disaster areas. In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and an adjacent state are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

THOMAS J. VILSACK Secretary

Enclosure

Disaster Designation Areas for California and a Contiguous State

Primary Counties

California (8)

Butte Nevada Tehama Yolo Glenn Placer Tuolumne Yuba

Contiguous Counties:

California (18)

Alpine Mariposa Shasta Calaveras Mendocino Sierra Colusa Mono Solano Napa El Dorado Stanislaus Lake Plumas Sutter Trinity Madera Sacramento

Contiguous Counties in an Adjacent State:

Nevada (3)

Douglas Washoe Carson City