

Office of the Secretary California, D.C. 20250

July 1, 2022

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor State of California State Capitol Suite 1173 Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Governor Newsom:

On April 6 through May 10, 2022, the California Governor's Office of Emergency Services requested a primary county disaster designation for 16 California counties due to losses caused by freeze that occurred during the 2022 Crop Year.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) reviewed the loss assessment reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation; therefore, I am designating 15 California counties as primary natural disaster areas, in three separate disaster designations. In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and an adjacent state are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by these disasters.

After a full review, USDA has determined that Kings County did not sustain a 30-percent or greater crop production loss to a single farming enterprise to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation for these disaster events.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Thomas J. Vilsack Secretary

Enclosure

Disaster Designation Areas for California and a Contiguous State Page 2

Designation Number 1: Freeze that occurred during February 21 through February 28, 2022:

Primary Counties:

California (10)

Butte Merced Solano Sutter Yolo Madera San Joaquin Stanislaus Tehama Yuba

Contiguous Counties:

California (22)

Alameda Glenn Nevada Santa Clara Amador Lake Placer Shasta Calaveras Mariposa Plumas Sierra Colusa Mendocino Sacramento **Trinity** Contra Costa Tuolumne Mono San Benito

Fresno Napa

Designation Number 2: Freeze that occurred on February 24, 2022:

Primary Counties:

California (2) Colusa Glenn

Contiguous Counties:

California (6)

Butte Mendocino Tehama Lake Sutter Yolo Disaster Designation Areas for California and a Contiguous State Page 3

Designation Number 3: Freeze that occurred during April 11 through April 13, 2022:

Primary Counties:

California (3)

Amador Calaveras El Dorado

Contiguous Counties:

California (6)

Alpine Sacramento Stanislaus Placer San Joaquin Tuolumne

Contiguous County in an Adjacent State:

Nevada (1)

Douglas